top of page

Ugly Sock Dolls

In October I signed up on DonorsChoose.org for a project I wanted to do with my Advanced Art Class. I wanted to teach them how to sew, but also make something fun and really ugly. I Thought of the Ugly Dolls made by Sun-Min Kim. She made a doll and sent it to her friend, David Horvath. He thought they were the ugliest things he'd ever seen, and fell in love with them. From there, they created a growing company out of these ugly dolls. (I own a few)

My project was funded and I was sent all of the supplies minus the socks. The students had to provide their own socks. That way, they were able to choose what it looked like and how their doll would be built. I have to say, the students were realy reluctant at first becuase they had no idea how thread a needle, sitich or even sew a button. I am proud to say, they now know how to all of those thing, plus make a doll!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page